all things d

define me in any way you know how.

Mr Smith

Now this is a story all about how my
Life got flipped turned upside down
And I’d like to take a minute just sit right there
I’ll tell you how I become the prince of a town called Bel-Air

In West Philadelphia born and raised
On the playground is where I spent most of my days
Chillin’ out, maxin’, relaxin’, all cool
And all shootin’ some b-ball outside of the school
When a couple of guys, who were up to no good
Started makin’ trouble in my neighborhood
I got in one little fight and my mom got scared
And said, “You’re movin’ with your auntie and uncle in Bel-Air.”

I whistled for a cab and when it came near
The license plate said fresh and it had dice in the mirror
If anything I could say that this cab was rare
But I thought, “Nah, forget it. Yo Homes.. To Bel-Air!”

I.. pulled… up to the house at about 7 or 8
and I yelled to the cabby “Yo homes, smell ya later!”
looked at my kingdom I was finally there
To settle my throne as the Prince of Bel-Air.

Once this tune came whistling out of the speakers, massive nostalgia knocked me over as if fetor was being blown in my face – mind you, this unfortunate event has happened and one I’d like to forget – and I’m not helping by digging it up again. Uhk!

I remember coming home after school, plonking the humungo sized school bag down and comfortably seating myself in front of the tele every day at 430 fully immersed by this show. This show was gold, wait.. it still IS gold! Ain’t nobody like Will Smith – the charisma and presence he alludes on tv is rather captivating. You have Will, the ultimate lovable larrakin of the bunch; Carlton (HAHAHA – I’m getting flashbacks of my HS friend Suzie who would just break out into a Carlton dance), Mr. Goody-two-shoes aka teachers pet aka parents golden child; Hilary, the Paris Hilton of the 90s – possibly worse!; Ashley, typical girl growing up faced with issues that almost all girls grow up face; Uncle Phil, Homer Simpson-esque; Aunt Viv, doting aunty and last but not least, Geoffrey the butler, he reminds me of Niles from “The Nanny” – which is another post altogether – if ever. Hilarity ensues in just about every episode along with emotional growth, life lessons, hope, love, etc etc. You get the gist.. I’m sure everyone pretty much grew up with this tv show, massive WIN. Don’t get me started on how ridiculous and trashy the shows are these days, yes I did and still do watch some of these shows, but at the end of the day – it’s almost like a guilty pleasure – a “WTF am I watching” moment.. a “WTF are these characters thinking”… yet I keep coming back for more. I don’t know why, I won’t try to comprehend why, I’ll just continue on my way and keep submitting myself to it. I’ll stop, one day.. just not today. Hey, at least I’m honest about it.. Gossip Girl, you suck!!

-d

Leave a Reply

